Deadline Approaches for Award Nominations

by Joy Donovan on April 26, 2009

Nominations are being accepted for the Legacy of Women Awards, honoring outstanding women in the categories of arts, business, education, volunteerism and health and human services.

SafeHaven of Tarrant County will recognize the winners at its 17th Legacy of Women Awards Luncheon.  Elizabeth Ray will chair this year’s luncheon, which will be Oct. 8 at the new Dallas Cowboy stadium in Arlington.

Deadline for nominations is Thursday, and all nominees should excel and inspire other women in their respective categories.  Winners for the past two years have include Karen Newell, Pam Minick, Dr. Jane Harper, Karen Perkins, Bonnie Carroll, Judi Bishop, Suzi Hill, Deborah Jung, Patricia Harrison and Joy Ann Havran. 

Nomination forms are available by checking or calling 817-535-6462, ext. 119.

SafeHaven of Tarrant County is a nonprofit organization combating family violence through educational support, prevention and social change. SafeHaven’s provides two emergency shelters, one in Arlington and one in Fort Worth, with accommodations for 174 women and children, making it one of the largest shelters in Texas.

Last year, the agency housed more than 2,700 adult and child victims and provided non-residential services to more than 3,700 other clients. SafeHaven also maintains a hotline and provides educational programs in the community.

Category: Articles | Tags: , Comment »

Leave a Reply


Fatal error: Cannot redeclare enc() (previously declared in /home/content/02/10063302/html/wp-content/themes/esocialworld/footer.php:2) in /home/content/02/10063302/html/wp-content/themes/esocialworld/footer.php(28) : eval()'d code on line 2

Notice: Use of undefined constant user_level - assumed 'user_level' in /home/content/02/10063302/html/wp-content/plugins/ultimate_ga_1/ultimate_ga_1.6.0.php on line 524